The Greater Impact through Environmental Infrastructure Symposium will be held at the National Library of Australia from Tuesday 16 May to Thursday 18 May 2017.

This will be a paperless event – download the conference app now! Available for iPhone and Android

Plenary Speakers

Professor Suzanne Miller, Queensland Chief Scientist

Prof Suzanne Miller.pngProfessor Miller commenced in the role of Queensland Chief Scientist on 12 December 2016 and is the state’s third Chief Scientist and first woman to hold this important post. Suzanne is continuing as Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and Director of the Queensland Museum Network, positions she has held since July 2013.

Prior to moving to Queensland, Suzanne was the Director of the South Australian Museum from 2007 to 2013. While in the United Kingdom, she was a Research Fellow at the Universities of Lancaster, Lecturer in Earth Sciences at the University of Aberdeen and the Open University, Geologist with the British Antarctic Survey, Researcher for BBC Science programming, and Geochemist with the Institute of Offshore Petroleum Engineering, Heriot Watt University/Conoco Philips.

Born in Edinburgh, Scotland, Suzanne studied Geology Honours at the University of St Andrews before completing her PhD in Marine Geology at Imperial College, University of London. She also received an Honorary Professorship from the University of Queensland and an Honorary D.Univ from Griffith University.

Suzanne is a Fellow of the: Geological Society of London, Mineralogical Society, Queensland Academy of Arts and Sciences, Royal Society of South Australia, Australian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy, Geological Society of Australia, and Society of Economic Geologists.

Suzanne is Vice Chair and Australian Representative on the Board of Scientific Collections International (an OECD Global Science Forum initiative), Chair of the Council of Australasian Museum Directors, and Chair of the Atlas of Living Australia Management Committee. She serves on: the National Research Infrastructure Roadmap Expert Working Group, the National Cultural Heritage Committee, the Griffith University Environmental Futures Research Institute Advisory Committee, the Geological Society of Australia Geoheritage and Geotourism Standing Committees, and the Queensland Advisory Committee for the Commemoration of the Anzac centenary.

Professor Mark Westoby, Macquarie University

Mark Westoby trained at Edinburgh, Utah State and Cornell. He came to Macquarie University as a lecturer in 1975, and has been there since. He was leader of an ARC Research Network 2005-2010, and an ARC Laureate Fellow 2011-15.  He initiated a national 1-day course in Current Ecology and Evolution and organised it 2001-2012. At Macquarie from 2007 he has led a Research Enrichment Program for postgrads and postdocs. He contributed to formation of the Ecosystem Science Long-Term Plan, was Chair of the Academy’s National Committee on Ecology Evolution and Conservation 2013-15, and was on the Advisory Board of TERN up until 2016.

Dr Helen Cleugh, Research Director, CSIRO

Dr Helen Cleugh is an atmospheric scientist with almost 30 years’ experience combining research discovery, delivery and leadership. Her research expertise lies in quantifying the interactions between the land surface and the atmosphere, and their effects on weather, climate and hydrology; and water-use and carbon uptake.

Dr Cleugh previously led the establishment of the National Environmental Science Programme’s Earth Systems and Climate Change Hub, a large national climate research consortium between CSIRO, Bureau of Meteorology and key university partners. From 2007, she led much of the climate and atmospheric research within CSIRO, collaborating with other research providers and funders to deliver the research needed for Australia to manage the challenges and opportunities of a changing and variable climate.